Vedic Astrology: Understanding and reading the basic of panchang!

What exactly is Panchang?

Panchang is the most traditional hindu calendar, which has a lot of significance in Vedic Astrology. On this Webcast, we’ll discuss the five elements of the Panchang and their significance in vedic Jiyotish.

The significance and meaning of Panchang

It is believed that the Indian Hindu calendar is being utilized in India for many thousands of years ago. The calendar, often referred to as the Panchang contains five fundamental components. While in recent times the gregorian calendar been more popular but the Panchang is not losing its significance and is utilized in modern days too. It is possible to utilize the today panchangam to choose a favourable date and time to complete important tasks.

The word Panchang refers to five different parts of the body. These five parts are Nakshatra, Tithi, Yog, Karan and Vaar. Panchang is used to adhere to Hindu rituals based on Vedic Astrology. It is impossible to determine the day of the year or Muhurat without the help of a Panchang. Muhrutha is judged to be to be good or bad based on Nakshatra, Tithi, Yog, Karan or Vaar.

The importance of Nakshatra in Panchang

Nakshatra is considered to be the first one, or a component of Panchang. In accordance with Indian Vedic astrology, there are 27 Nakshatras. In muhurtha astrology, the 28th Nakshatra is also considered, known as”the Abhijeet Nakshatra. Abhijeet Muhurtha is believed to be extremely fortunate for any significant work. Therefore, if you add Abhijeet in your calculation, the Nakshatra count is now 28.

Every Nakshatra is believed to be good or appropriate for a specific task. This includes weddings, moving into the new home, purchasing new vehicles, beginning with a new course, or setting the foundation for the building, etc. Every Nakshatra includes 13 degrees and 20 minutes in the 360-degree zodiac signs. It can be effective for about an entire day.

The importance of Tithi in Panchang

There are 16 Tithis. Purnima and Amavasya happen every month at least once. Other Tithis occur twice per month. They are : Pratipada, Dwitiya, Tritiya, Chaturthi, Panchami, Shashti, Saptami, Ashtami, Navami, Dashami, Ekadashi, Dwadashi, Trayodashi and Chaturdashi. Purnima is considered to be the fifteenth Tithi as well. Amavasya is considered to be the 30th Tithi.

Hindu month is divided into two sections on the basis of the waxing or the waning of the moons. The first one can be referred to as Shukla Paksha and the second portion is called Krishna Paksha. Shukla Paksha starts with Pratipada and is completed at the time of Chaturdashi. The 15th Tithi falls on Purnima.

Krishna Paksha commences on the morning of Poornima. The first tithi in this paksha is known as Pratipada and the final tithi is Chaturdashi. The following day is 30th Tithi that is also known as Amavasya. A hindu maas or month ends on Poornima.

The importance for Yog Panchang

Yog is the 3rd part in the Panchang. Every Yoga is beneficial for every day in the life of a person. The 27 Yogas include : Vishkumbh, Preeti, Ayushmaan Saubhagya Shobhan, Atigand, Sukarma, Dhriti, Shool, Gand, Vriddhi, Dhruv, Vyaghaat, Harshan, Vajra, Siddhi, Vyatipaat, Variyaan, Parigh, Shiv, Siddh, Sadhya, Shubh, Shukla, Brahma, Indra and Vaidhriti.

These Yogas are both auspicious and unlucky. Each Yoga reflects the luckiness or unluckiness of the Yog. Of the 27 Yogas 9 Yogas are not lucky.

Yog is calculated using the formula. Yog is calculated by with the help of celestial longitude(Bhogansha) of the Sun as well as the Moon.

The importance to Karan in Panchang

Karan can be described as the fourth component of Panchang. There are eleven Karans. There are four Karans are stationary and seven are moveable. Shakuni, Chatushpad, Naag and Kintughna are stationary, while Bav, Balav, Kaulav, Taitil, Gar, Vanij and Vishti are moveable. They are Karans are observed eight times within the lunar month in our Hindu calendar 2002 . Every day has two Karans that are known as”the Purvardha as well as the Uttarardha Karan.

The length of the Karan is half the length of the length of a Tithi. Shakuni, Chatushpad, Naag and Kimstughna are not a good sign for Karans. The Karans aren’t suitable for any work that is considered to be auspicious.

The importance of Vaar in Panchang

The fifth component of the Panchang is Vaar or weekdays. Vaar is the period between one sunrise and the next sunrise. There are seven Vaars, i.e, Ravivaar, Somvaar, Mangalvaar, Buddhvaar, Brihaspativaar, Shukravaar and Shanivaar. Mangalvaar as well as Shanivaar can be thought to be unlucky in any event that has a positive outcome. Ravivaar is considered to be a part of the favorable. Somvaar, Buddhvaar, Brihaspativaar and Shukravaar are believed to be good for lucky works.


Leave a Comment